Close this search box.


PRIMORDIAL Reveals Upcoming Album Alongside Enchanting Video and Single ‘Victory Has 1000 Fathers, Defeat Is An Orphan’

Primordial-Band Members

Hailing from Ireland, Primordial, the long-standing pagan metal troupe, is poised to release their tenth full-length masterpiece, “How It Ends,” on September 29th through Metal Blade Records.

With unwavering determination, this Irish collective has consistently demonstrated their primal prowess, pouring their very essence into their creations. Following the well-acclaimed “Exile Amongst The Ruins” of 2018, “How It Ends” propels their unique blend of Celtic and black metal to new heights, with an intensified urgency and a fearless confrontation with impending apocalypse.

“The title is a question – is this how it ends? How it all goes down: culture, language, history, society, humanity, who knows?,” says vocalist A. A. Nemtheanga“Regardless of who you are or were, you get one chance at all of this, and it’s asking is this the end of your town, state, nation? Myths, traditions, relationships, and I suppose it asks the question, who reacts, who rebels – how does it end now for them?”


Setting the Stage: Leading up to the Album’s Debut, the Band Presents Debut Single and Album Closer, ‘Victory Has 1000 Fathers, Defeat Is An Orphan,’ Alongside its Striking Visual Companion. The Album Was Crafted at Hellfire Studios, With Production Led by the Band and Engineering by Longtime Collaborator Chris Fielding.

Collaborating alongside founding members Pól MacAmlaigh (bass), Ciáran MacUilliam (guitar), and the steadfast drummer Simon O’Laoghaire, the band embarked on their creative journey in the Autumn of 2022, igniting a spark that propelled them to work diligently and passionately. True to their approach, Primordial doesn’t predetermine their albums; they allow them to organically manifest. Yet, vocalist Nemtheanga had a clear vision for a more expansive, resonant sound coupled with heightened aggression – a vision that the band flawlessly realized. “How It Ends is a very angry, defiant, visceral, and rebellious album, and as we worked it all began to take more shape and form itself. It may be the note we go out on but it will be a note of resistance, in musical terms. I think it’s also more metal! And more epic!”

It only takes one listen for these claims to be proven true, whether it’s the surging, gruff, dark ‘Ploughs To Rust, Swords To Dust,’ the moody, desperate ‘Pilgrimage To The World’s End,’ or the sprawling ‘All Against All,’ which is drenched in a sinister air and driven by pounding rhythms, wielding a towering climax. “It certainly sounds like Primordial, there is no doubt about that, we have our own style and this is a new chapter of the same book. If we have done anything new it’s really to work with more conviction than ever, and trust more than ever our instincts.”

Drawing lyrical influence both from modern and historical ideas, Nemtheangaalways gives the listener something to think about. “How It Ends” is no exception. “If, for example, “To The Nameless Dead” (2007) was about the movement of borders, building of nations and those sent to war who gave their lives forming them, then this is the album more about resisting those empires, the freedom fighters, the outlaws, the people who made suicidal stands for freedom of speech, or independence, or for the most important word in the English language: liberty. It’s not hard to see why the album is inspired by this considering where we are right now in the world.”

The record is available for pre-order HERE. It will be released in the following formats:

  • (Worldwide) – Digital and 2xLP in Gatefold, with insert and download card
  • (US) – Jewel Case CD
  • (EU) – 2xDigipak CD (6-panel digi w/ 12-page booklet) w/ 6-bonus tracks
  • (EU) 2xLP Special Edition in Gatefold, with insert and download card in slipcase with tote bag, slip-mat, double-sided poster (ltd. to 1000 copies)
Primordial How It Ends Artwork

“How It Ends” Track-Listing:

  1. How It Ends
  2. Ploughs To Rust, Swords To Dust
  3. We Shall Not Serve
  4. Traidisiúnta
  5. Pilgrimage To The World’s End
  6. Nothing New Under The Sun
  7. Call To Cernunnos
  8. All Against All
  9. Death Holy Death
  10. Victory Has 1000 Fathers, Defeat Is An Orphan
Are you a band, artist, or record label interested in having your music showcased on our page and social media platforms?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

most read

Subscribe to our updates

Most Viewed