Close this search box.


Vitriol “Suffer & Become” album review by Luz Figueroa

VITRIOL Members Band

In the ever-evolving landscape of extreme metal, Vitriol‘s latest opus, “Suffer & Become,” emerges as a monumental testament to the band’s relentless pursuit of sonic devastation and artistic evolution. This album, a follow-up to their critically acclaimed “To Bathe from the Throat of Cowardice,” not only solidifies Vitriol‘s standing in the metal community but also showcases their remarkable growth as musicians and storytellers.

Suffer & Become” is a masterclass in controlled chaos. From the outset, it’s evident that Vitriol has refined their approach, embracing a broader sonic palette while retaining the ferocious intensity that has become their hallmark. The album’s opener, “Shame and Its Afterbirth,” sets the tone with its haunting intro, leading into a maelstrom of blistering riffs and pummeling drums that demonstrate the band’s technical prowess and compositional maturity.

The album’s narrative arc, likened to a “Jungian Dante’s Inferno” by co-vocalist Kyle Rasmussen, reflects a journey of introspection and transformation. This thematic depth adds a layer of complexity to the listening experience, inviting audiences to explore the nuances of each track. The instrumental “Survival’s Careening Inertia” stands out as a pivotal moment, offering a brief respite from the onslaught with its melodic interlude before plunging back into the abyss.

Vitriol‘s ability to weave together elements of death metal, black metal, and even deathcore results in a sound that is both expansive and intensely personal. The dual vocal attack of Rasmussen and bassist Adam Roethlisberger adds a dynamic element to the album, their voices serving as conduits for the raw emotion and existential dread that permeate the record.

The addition of drummer Matt Kilner is a revelation, his precision and agility elevating the band’s rhythmic complexity to new heights. Tracks like “The Flowers of Sadism” and “I Am Every Enemy” showcase the band’s ability to balance brutality with melody, creating moments of beauty amidst the carnage.

Production-wise, “Suffer & Become” strikes a delicate balance between clarity and rawness. The mix allows each instrument to shine, from the serrated edge of the guitars to the thunderous impact of the drums, without sacrificing the visceral impact that is essential to Vitriol’s sound.

In conclusion, “Suffer & Become” is not just an album; it’s an experience. It demands attention, challenging listeners to confront their own shadows as they navigate its depths. Vitriol has not only surpassed their previous work but set a new standard for themselves and the genre. This album is a beacon of innovation in extreme metal, a reminder of the genre’s potential for both aggression and artistry. I rate “Suffer & Become” a resounding 9 out of 10, for its ability to capture the essence of human struggle through the lens of extreme music, making it a landmark release that will be remembered and revered.

Get your copy here:

VITRIOL Album Covers


1. Shame and its Afterbirth
2. The Flowers of Sadism
3. Nursing from the Mother Wound
4. The Isolating Lie of Learning Another
5. Survival’s Careening Inertia
6. Weaponized Loss
7. Flood of Predation
8. Locked in Thine Frothing Wisdom
9. I am Every Enemy
10. He Will Fight Savagely

Release date: January 26, 2024

Are you a band, artist, or record label interested in having your music showcased on our page and social media platforms?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

most read

Subscribe to our updates

Most Viewed