Dread Sovereign

Dread Sovereign was formed in Dublin, Ireland about a decade ago by Primordial vocalist Nemtheanga to give praise to filthy cult old doom, black and heavy metal!

Except as well as singing he took up butchering the bass and then called on Bones (guitar) and JK (drums) to bring rotten flesh out the bones. An debut EP came out on Roadburn/Burning World records to coincide with the bands live debut at the same festival back in 2012 and what followed were two full lengths released by Van Records (All Hells Martyrs and For Doom the Bell Tolls) and now in early 2021 the band releases their new album Alchemical Warfare through Metal Blade Records.

Think Venom meets Hawkwind meets Hellhammer meets reckless rock´n´roll abandon in the pure old school sense! The subject matter and aesthetic are particular to the three characters on the front cover of each release, the time travelling trio who appear on the debut flaying Saint Bartholemew, on the second album hanging Sarah Wildes Averill in Salem and now as lab assistants to Isaac Newton as he tries to discover the secret of Alchemy. The subject matter is never fantasy, always rooted in the dark reality of historical fact but written in the lexicon of Evil!

Dread Sovereign have toured Europe and played various festivals several times over the years and their raucous sweat, spit and blood, no fucks given attitude has gained the respect of dirtbags everywhere. 

The World is Doomed! Give Praise to the Devil in Man! „Our motto when we started was ‘The World is Doomed’…..and it seems life is imitating art…..as we are looking like filthy prophets! Several years in the making the new Dread Sovereign is ready for the End of the World, which might be next year in case you didn’t know! A bit more reckless and uptempo than the previous releases yet the template remains doom, ‘Alchemical Warfare’ just has a bit more Venom and Motorhead thrown into the mix. If it’s the end of days we might as well go out with middle fingers raised right?“

Recorded in several stages over the last couple of years, as the band now live in separate countries. Dread Sovereign decided to skip 2020 completely – annus horribilis and avoid it like the plague! Pun intended….so here we are right at the beginning of 2021, ready for the end of days!“

Alchemical Warfare track-listing
1. A Curse On Men
2. She Wolves Of The Savage Season
3. The Great Beast We Serve
4. Nature Is The Devil´s Church
5. Her Master´s Voice
6. Viral Tomb
7. Devil´s Bane
8. Ruin Upon The Temple Mount
9. You Don´t Move Me (I Don´t Give a Fuck)

Dread Sovereign line-up:
Nemtheanga – vocals/bass
 Bones – guitars
JK – drums

Dread Sovereign online:
IG: dreadsovereign



If you are a band/artist or record label and you want us to feature your music on our page and social media channels, contact us now.   


Leave a Comment