Close this search box.


NOCTURNUS AD To Release Unicursal Full-Length May 17th


Profound Lore Records will release the new NOCTURNUS AD album, Unicursal, on May 17th, the anticipated follow-up to 2019’s Paradox landing on said album’s fifth anniversary.

With 2019’s Paradox, Nocturnus founder/Sci-Fi death metal godfather and original Morbid Angel co-founder Mike Browning would resurrect Nocturnus lore under its new alteration, NOCTURNUS AD. It allowed Browning the opportunity to finally continue the mythos that came before with the legendary album The Key – which would become one of the most influential death metal albums of all time — nearly thirty years after its release. Paradox proved a proper follow-up to The Key, both musically and thematically where the story and themes vocalist/drummer Browning initially laid out continue through the lens of the occult. Paradox’s story follows the journey of Dr. Allen William Magus (aka Dr. Magus), a scientist ravaged by a war plague disease and kept alive by creating a bio suit, the aftermath of the events revealed on The Key.

The new NOCTURNUS AD album Unicursal sees Browning, along with guitarists Belial Koblak and Demian Heftel, keyboardist Josh Holdren, and new bassist Kyle Sokol (bass on Unicursalwas performed by now-ex bassist Daniel Tucker), continue the journey of Dr. Magus following the events of Paradox. Now armed with his bio suit, on Unicursal Dr. Magus is sent on a mission to traverse through the Spheres of the the Kabbalistic Tree Of Life to conquer each sphere and collect its respective sigil/symbol. Unicursal will see Dr. Magus specifically travel to Malkuth, Yesod, Hod, and Netzach, the Tree’s lower realm, its roots. The story of Dr. Magus is featured on the album’s second half where the album’s first half will continue to explore ancient occult themes and mysteries from the unknown, separate from Dr. Magus’ story.

Evidently, Unicursal is not only one of the most ambitious undertakings Browning has been involved with, but it is a formidable display of progressive occult metal wizardry that manifests NOCTURNUS AD as one of the most singular forces in extreme metal today; there truly is no other entity akin and Unicursal is another monolith that honors and continues the tradition and lore laid down with The Key and continued with Paradox. With blistering guitar manifestations courtesy of Koblak and Heftel, Holdren’s grand and epic synth passages and Browning holding down the rhythm with his calculated battery along with his unique commanding chants, Unicursalis a towering aeonic manifestation, extraordinary Sci-Fi otherworldly death metal forging itself through time and space.

Unicursal was produced, engineered, and mastered by Jarrett Pritchard at New Constellation Audio in Orlando, Florida, and features artwork by Uwe Jarling with design by Chimere Noire.

Profound Lore Records will release Unicursal on CD, LP, MC, and digital formats on May 17th. Find preorder options for all formats HERE.


Unicursal Track Listing:

  1. Intro
  2. The Ascension Throne Of Osiris
  3. CephaloGod
  4. Mesolithic
  5. Organism 46B
  6. Mission Malkuth
  7. Yesod, The Dark Side Of The Moon
  8. Hod, The Stellar Light
  9. Netzach, The Fire Of Victory
  10. Outro

Are you a band, artist, or record label interested in having your music showcased on our page and social media platforms?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

most read

Subscribe to our updates

Most Viewed