Close this search box.


Brighton duo WREX release new single “This Hell Goes a Long Way Down”

WREX Band members

Today, Brighton-based duo WREX have released their new single and music video for “This Hell Goes a Long Way Down”. The track is taken from the band’s newly announced EP of the same name, due 16th August. This Hell Goes a Long WayDown was engineered and produced by guitarist George Donogue, with other credits that include CassyetteHarpyRiver Becomes Ocean, and Orchards.

On the new single, WREX comment:
“This song was the turning point of the new record. It was a step in a new direction that was uncharted territory for us. From the second we finished the demo we knew this track was something we wanted to share and underpinned the theme of the upcoming record. Resulting in us throwing away about six months work as it simply didn’t hit the bench mark.
Lyrically it is a lighthearted acknowledgment of our traumas and experiences, and how denying them for years was doing more damage than good. ‘Piece by piece I lost my mind’, and the line ‘This Hell goes a long way down’ is an acceptance that this string or thread goes through you down to your core or formative years, whilst you might still fall apart from time to time, you know you made it out of a place that others never did. This was one of those songs that came together in about 20 minutes and before we knew it we had said what we needed to say. Plain and simply like most of our songs, this was a release and we hope it can be the same for you in your own way.”

About WREX:

“Absolutely phenomenal live band if you get the chance to see them.” – Melita Dennett (Radio Reverb, BBC Introducing)

Brighton duo WREX merge sounds of pop and electro with punk and nu-metal to create a uniquely ferocious concoction. Pair that with their high-energy live performance and it makes them ones to look out for, pulling in live members TomStevens (Freeze the Atlantic), and JoeConstable (Circus of Horrors). 

2023 saw WREX establish themselves on the live scene with gigs across the UK, and a full capacity show at Brighton’s famous Great Escape Festival. The band have received airtime on stations such as BBC Radio 1, BBC Introducing, Kerrang! Radio and Planet Rock, and are set to release their new EP in time to be your summer anthem of 2024!

WREX Album Cover

Track Listing
1. Take a Walk
2. Heaven’s Gate
3. This Hell Goes a Long Way Down
4. S.A.D
5. Shallow
6. The End

Band Members:
Mae Seaton – Vocals
George Donoghue – Vocals / guitars / synths
Tom Stevens – Guitar 
Joe Constable – Bass 
Greg Walton – Drums

To celebrate the news, WREX have also announced a string of headline dates that’ll take them around the UK in August. Ticket available here:

16.08.24 – The Black Heart, London
17.08.24 – The Green Door Store, Brighton
23.08.24 – The Anvil, Bournemouth
24.08.24 – The Louisiana, Bristol
25.08.24 – Fuel, Cardiff
31.08.24 – The Portland Arms, Cambridge

Social Media Links:
Website || Facebook || Instagram || Twitter || YouTube || TikTok

Are you a band, artist, or record label interested in having your music showcased on our page and social media platforms?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

most read

Subscribe to our updates

Most Viewed