Close this search box.


Gost Unveils “Widow Song” Single, Prophecy Full-Length To See Release March 8th On Metal Blade Records

Gost band member

Slasherwave outfit GOST today unveils “Widow Song,” the latest single from the project’s impending new full-length, Prophecy, set for release on March 8th via Metal Blade Records.

GOST exists in the dark crack between black metal and the most shadowy end of electronic music. Since the release of the Radio Macabre EP at the start of 2013, and the remorseless digital nightmare of their Skull debut album six months later, Texas-based multi-instrumentalist, producer, and main-brain James Lollar has become an increasingly singular force in music. Far more aggressive and sinister than the synthwave he’s often grouped with, GOST is a harsh and unique digital nightmare that takes the listener right into the heart of the abyss.

Now GOST returns with their sixth album, Prophecy. Unquestionably their most exhilarating and dangerous sounding work to date, Prophecy is a record that perfectly reflects the horror and grim anxieties of a world beset with religious and political overreach, and progress, “being rolled back to the fucking 1950s.”

It’s about an imaginative fall of the Western civilization, the biblical end of the world – the rise of Satan and Armageddon,” says Lollar. “In America, there’s been a big rise of scared, reactive Christianity again, and almost like a re-emergence of the Satanic Panic. So it felt like an appropriate time to bring Satan back into things.”

In advance of the release of ProphecyGOST today unleashes “Widow Song” with an accompanying lyric video. “‘Widow Song’ is very personal to me on a few levels,” elaborates Lollar. “The title tributes an old close friend who suddenly died years ago. The lyrical content is a direct response to the world of chaos we are all currently having to navigate. Sonically, I wanted to merge my new wave and black metal influences. I pushed my vocal capacity on ‘Widow Song,’ going much lower and higher than I have previously attempted as GOST. The result rests somewhere between Mayhem and Skinny Puppy.

Find pre-order options at:

Gost album cover

Prophecy Track Listing:
01. Judgment
02. Prophecy
03. Death in Bloom
04. Deceiver
05. Obituary
06. Temple of Tears
07. Decadent Decay
08. Widow Song
09. Golgotha
10. Digital Death
11. Shelter
12. Through the Water
13. Leviathan

James Lollar – everything

Are you a band, artist, or record label interested in having your music showcased on our page and social media platforms?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

most read

Subscribe to our updates

Most Viewed