Close this search box.


SUMMONING THE LICH share new single and music video, “Return to the Soil”.


SUMMONING THE LICH has today shared a new single and music video, Return to the Soil, from their forthcoming sophomore album, Under the Reviled Throne. Return to the Soil is the second track to be taken from Under the Reviled Throne and follows the St. Louis, Missouri technical death metal groups recent US touring in support in of Vale of Pnath and Abigail Williams. Under the Reviled Throne will be released via Prosthetic Records on July 26.

Speaking on the new single and music video, David Bruno (vocals) comments: “We open up our second album with Return To The Soil, which is fitting because it was one of the first songs we really nailed down when we were first crafting Under The Reviled Throne. It describes the Lich’s journey into the wastes as he and his mighty army begin their quest to dominate the continent. Also there are witches, and I love writing songs about witches”

After three years of extensive US touring and shows with the likes of Allageon, Gorod and Inferi among others, as well as headline stints, SUMMONING THE LICH set about bringing Under the Reviled Throne to life. Intended as a death metal equivalent to The Empire Strikes Back in scope, the group set their sights on raising the stakes in both story and songwriting.

SUMMONING THE LICH took the considered approach of eschewing superfluous technicality in favor of a leaner and more streamlined focus on song structure. Each of the tracks on Under the Reviled Throne were written with the purpose of guiding the listener through the eponymous Lich’s descent into misanthropy and tyranny, without sacrificing their idiosyncratic sound.

This balancing act of dexterity and structure is exemplified best on cuts like Return to the Soil and lead single, My Horrors Unending. The latter of which succinctly merges SUMMONING THE LICH’s inclination for extremity and stop and start dynamics with rhythmic pummelling and memorable hooks.

With Arrias under existential threat, Under the Reviled Throne is a dazzlingly ambitious tale of hope and resistance in the form of its protagonist Taane (introduced on previously released album track, The Forest Feasts). Elsewhere, The Carrion Fleet’s narrative of the city of Bastell succumbing to flames at the hands of the Lich’s army ushers in the ominously brooding

Upping the stakes to dizzying heights, SUMMONING THE LICH offers plenty in the way of light among the shadowy figures that lurk within the Lich’s universe of malevolent chaos. All is not lost.

July 27 – Red Flag – St. Louis, MO (Under the Reviled Throne album release show)


Under The Reviled Throne tracklist:
1. Return to the Soil
2. Reviled Crystal Wielders
3. The Forest Feasts
4. My Horrors Unending
5. Bastell Dirge
6. The Carrion Fleet
7. Arrias Groans
8. Will to Survive
9. Potion Seller
10. The Void Gate
11. Praise to the Bog

David Bruno – Vocals
Ryan Felps – Guitars
Nick Muckerman – Guitars
TJ Chilton – Drums

Are you a band, artist, or record label interested in having your music showcased on our page and social media platforms?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

most read

Subscribe to our updates

Most Viewed