Close this search box.


Tomi Koivusaari of Amorphis Launches Solo Project “Bjørkø” with Debut Album “Heartrot”

bjorko featured.jpg

Tomi Koivusaari, best known as the driving force behind Finnish metal icons Amorphis, steps into the spotlight with his long-awaited solo project, Bjørkø. A creative journey 15 years in the making, Koivusaari’s debut album, “Heartrot,” is set to be released this December through Svart Records.

The album’s lead single, “The Heartroot Rots,” rekindles Koivusaari’s collaboration with Jeff Walker of Carcass, a fitting choice for one of the album’s heaviest tracks. You can watch the video below.

For years, Koivusaari has been a creative backbone of Amorphis, a band celebrated for its innovation in heavy music. Now, with Bjørkø (which translates to “Birch Island” in English), Koivusaari ventures beyond the confines of band dynamics to showcase his distinct artistic vision.

Unburdened by the structural constraints of a traditional band, “Heartrot” serves as a testament to Koivusaari’s versatility and depth as an artist. He explains, “It’s a collection of various songs and points of view. I didn’t want a traditional approach to limit my artistic expression.”

“Heartrot” presents an emotional panorama, with each track capturing a unique sentiment. Koivusaari describes it as “a soundtrack to an imaginary film,” filled with “a strong visual connection to nature and an ever-present sense of melancholy.”

Bjørkø is more than just a solo endeavor; it features an all-star lineup of vocalists in multiple languages, contributing to a rich and multi-layered atmosphere. The project includes the talents of Waltteri Väyrynen (Opeth, ex-Paradise Lost), Lauri Porra (Stratovarius), and Janne Lounatvuori (Hidria Spacefolk), providing a rock-solid foundation for Koivusaari’s artistic vision.

Pre-order the album HERE.

bjorko heartrot.jpeg

“Heartrot” Tracklist:

  1. The Heartroot Rots (feat. Jeff Walker)
  2. Vaka Loka (feat. Addi Tryggvason)
  3. Whitebone Wind (feat. Marko Hietala & Petronella Nettermalm)
  4. Va?rinvaihtaja (feat. Ismo Alanko)
  5. Awakening
  6. World as Fire and Hallucination (feat. Stian Thoresen)
  7. The Trickster (feat. Jessi Frey)
  8. Hooks in the Sky (feat. Tomi Joutsen)
  9. Magenta (feat. Mariska)
  10. Reverberations
Are you a band, artist, or record label interested in having your music showcased on our page and social media platforms?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

most read

Subscribe to our updates

Most Viewed