Close this search box.


MIDAS FALL: Progressive Post-Rock Trio Unveils “Monsters” Video/Single; Cold Waves Divide Us Full-Length To See Release This March Via Monotreme Records

MIDAS FALL Band Members

Scottish progressive post-rock trio MIDAS FALL is pleased to debut their new single, “Monsters.” The band’s latest hymn comes by way of their fifth studio album, Cold Waves Divide Us, set for release on March 8th worldwide via Monotreme Records.

For the follow-up to their critically lauded, 2018-released full-length, Evaporate, founding MIDAS FALL members Elizabeth Heaton and Rowan Burn are joined by Michael Hamilton. Cold Waves Divide Us sees the band at their most confidently visceral, each song moving beautifully between quiet and loud, gentle and crushing. “This album is a heavier and bigger experience than the last album,” notes Heaton. “We kept the atmospheric strings and ‘80s synths of Evaporate but wanted to add heavier layered elements, to represent more what we sound like live.”

On “Monsters,” the band shows a more contemplative side, with an ethereal intro giving way to gorgeously syncopated guitar and drums.

Comments Heaton, “The monsters I sing about in this song are the intrusive, anxiety ridden thoughts that decide to rear their ugly heads from time to time, especially when you least expect it, just to remind you that you never truly have full control. There is a feeling of defeat and submission in this song, juxtaposed with the idea that the act of writing the words and music itself can be the resolution.”

The single is accompanied by a video from producer David Gregory of Cineoteric Films, featuring the band members. Describing the approach he took to the video, Gregory recounts, “Liz explained to us that the song ‘Monsters’ came to her during a tough time. Composing it happened quickly and organically as it very much helped get her through it. We wanted to explore the idea that art and specifically music is ever-present. As if we’re conduits to the vibrations around us and we’re pulling the lyrics, music, and inspirations directly from our surroundings. Sometimes music reveals itself when we truly need it.”

MIDAS FALL Album Cover

Cold Waves Divide Us will be released on CD and digital formats as well as limited edition 180g vinyl (150 Black, 350 Clear w/ Orange/Black Splatter). The first fifty physical preorders from the Monotreme Records webshop will also receive a limited edition printed A5 booklet with images of handwritten lyrics drafts and drawings from Elizabeth Heaton.

Cold Waves Divide Us Track Listing:

  1. In The Morning We’ll Be Someone Else
  2. I Am Wrong
  3. Salt
  4. In This Avalanche
  5. Point Of Diminishing Return
  6. Monsters
  7. Atrophy
  8. Cold Waves Divide Us
  9. Little Wooden Boxes
  10. Mute


4/16/2024 Sunny Red Club – Munich, DE
4/17/2024 Polimagie Festival – Dresden, DE
4/18/2024 Kohi – Karlsruhe, DE
4/19/2024 Stummsche Reithalle – Neunkirchen, DE
4/20/2024 Pop Salon Festival – Osnabrück, DE
5/26/2024 Portals Festival, EartH – London, UK


Elizabeth Heaton – vocals, guitars, strings, synths, piano, drums
Rowan Burn – guitars, synths, piano, drums
Michael Hamilton – bass, synths, drums

Are you a band, artist, or record label interested in having your music showcased on our page and social media platforms?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

most read

Subscribe to our updates

Most Viewed